My Favorite Mistake

December5

WHAM!! That doesn’t sound good, I thought weakly to myself. Only to find out that horrifying noise came from me. This is the story of my favorite mistake and how I still have a weird looking scar on my chin. Spending the first playdate with my new friend in the ER is not exactly my kind of fun and this is how it goes.

SPLASH, SPLASH, that was completely exhausting, I thought. My friend, her name was Margaret, my sister and I had just gotten out of the Lost Creek Country Club swimming pool. Even though we were completely used up, we still had the energy to jump in and swim in the lukewarm top pool where all the kids that don’t do swim team went to enjoy themselves. My sister asked Margaret with great excitement to push her backwards into the pool. So, of course, she pushed her. My sister went back with an excited yelp and fell in the pool, hard. Seconds later she literally sprang up and yelled, AGAIN, AGAIN!! She never got her turn because I intervened, I asked maybe a little too loud for Margaret to push me because some people looked at me with rather annoyed faces, but I felt no guilt, I was extremely excited. I got to the edge of the pool and put my back to it. I got ready and silently counted 3…2…1…and that’s when all the problems began.

This is when the CRUNCH I mentioned earlier comes in. I looked around but it was all a little blurry, all I could really see was the shocked faces of parents and children. My mom and Margaret’s dad came into view and pulled me out of the pool. Surprisingly, no blood was in the pool but, when you looked at my face, well, it was the total opposite. I was freaking out so bad I did not even know when my tears ended and the blood began. Luckily enough, Margaret’s dad was a fireman and her mom was a doctor. Even though Margaret’s mom was not here, her dad was and he had a couple tricks up his sleeve. They bandaged up my chin and through the shock, I thought, I must have looked like a marshmallow was sprouting from my chin. But, those thoughts quickly fled because they were helping me up. Soon enough my weak body hobbled out of the club and into the car.

The car felt like it was driving at 100 miles per hour because, what seemed like five minutes later I was almost across town and into a hospital. Margaret came along with us because she was supposed to have a playdate. My mom and I carefully walked out of the car and into the ER, while Margaret and my sister sat down and started watching tv in the waiting room. My mom explained hurriedly what had happened and soon enough I was out of sight of my friend and sister. After what seemed like hours later, my chin got glued up and I was extremely glad I did not have to get stitches. My mom and the doctor talked about it and with the sounds of it, it did not seem good. Later, I was walking weakly out of the ER and we went home. So much for my first playdate with Margaret, I thought laughing silently, as we got into the car and zoomed away.

I think I took the pushing backwards thing a little too far. I was a little too much of a daredevil then and now I realize that some things CAN be taken a little too far. It never even crossed my mind that something like this could have happened. Now, I know to think before I do something like that and go over the possible things that could happen to me if I do it. Though that does not stop me from wanting to bungee jump or even jump off a 50 foot building with only a harness and a metal rod sticking out of the building to hold you. Only know now that I have to be careful of what I do and now I know for later that I will never make the same or any similar mistakes again.

by posted under Fun | 1 Comment »    
One Comment to

“My Favorite Mistake”

  1. December 7th, 2013 at 1:36 pm      Reply Grand-maman Says:

    Well, well, well, experience and incidents are catching up with you. Everybody needs to make a visit to the ER at least once, as long as it’s not too often. But looking at it differently, you had wonderful company with you. I guess you were missing a brother!

    And you still talk about bungee jumping or jumping off a building, I guess the incident wasn’t too dramatic. Daredevils sometimes have to pay a price.

    Enjoy your friends, it’s less risky!

    Je t’aime, grand-maman


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Skip to toolbar