A Dream Within A Dream (Edgar Allan Poe)

April22

Life is a precious gift. Don't waste it being unhappy, dissatisfied, or anything else you can be
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: @Doug88888 via Compfight

A Dream Within A Dream

Take this kiss upon the brow!
And, in parting from you now,
Thus much let me avow-
You are not wrong, who deem
That my days have been a dream;
Yet if hope has flown away
In a night, or in a day,
In a vision, or in none,
Is it therefore the less gone?
All that we see or seem
Is but a dream within a dream.

I stand amid the roar
Of a surf-tormented shore,
And I hold within my hand
Grains of the golden sand-
How few! yet how they creep
Through my fingers to the deep,
While I weep- while I weep!
O God! can I not grasp
Them with a tighter clasp?
O God! can I not save
One from the pitiless wave?
Is all that we see or seem
But a dream within a dream?

This poem caught my attention the first time I read it. It has many layers to it. I had to read it over and over to understand these words.  The repetition of this poem adds effect. Edgar uses great imagery for this poem. As I read, my mind showed me these images and it helped feel and understand the deeper, less obvious meaning of this poem. This poem also made me wonder about things like, is there a dream within a dream? Now, I see the world from Edgar’s perspective and it is a neat way of seeing it.
by posted under Uncategorized | 3 Comments »    
3 Comments to

“A Dream Within A Dream (Edgar Allan Poe)”

  1. April 22nd, 2014 at 3:11 pm      Reply sara110gst Says:

    I love your whole blog I hope you don’t mind that I will had you to my overseas blogroll so that my class mates and others can fin their way to your blog too.


  2. April 30th, 2014 at 7:01 am      Reply Grand-maman Says:

    Dear Izadora,

    Poetry is so powerful, so few words with so much meaning. And…..when will we read your rhymes in poetic lines?

    Je t’aime, grand-maman


  3. May 2nd, 2014 at 12:56 pm      Reply Bertsbeez Says:

    Hi Izadora ,
    I found that poem very interesting. I myself like writing and reading poetry. One of my favorite poems is Mending Wall, by Robert Frost. Why don’t you check out my blog, and comment on one of my posts. Its URL is http://rharreen.edublogs.org/.


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Skip to toolbar