Where I am from Poem

November22

Where I am from

I am from a different country

Where the language is unknown to most

Where the biggest part of my family is from

Where snow falls by the meter

I am from a unique family

Green eyes is my specialty

Blond hair is a secret my brother and I share

I am from under a red roof

A stone house

Plain but beautiful in it’s own way

And an explosion of different shades of green around

I am from the need of chocolate

To being nervous to speak in front of a crowd

I am from getting angry at my brother with a snap of a finger

To doing things that are excruciatingly boring like homework

I am from sadness

The pain I felt when my poor, 18 year old uncle died

The agony I felt as when my forehead got cut open

I am from a favorite place

The comfy, snug living room

With the chocolate brown couch

And the hot, dry Texan sun shining big and bright

by posted under Fun, Writer's Notebook | 9 Comments »    
9 Comments to

“Where I am from Poem”

  1. November 24th, 2013 at 8:03 am      Reply Grand-maman Says:

    I am your grandmother

    I am waiting for that snow

    I wish you were here to await that magic moment

    I know that you will know lots of magic moments

    I see, a warm home, love, respect and lots of

    CHOCOLATE!

    I love you, Grand-maman


    • December 21st, 2013 at 3:51 pm      Reply izadoraf612 Says:

      I like that, definitely the chocolate part. I really appreciate all the comments. Thank you for going to my blog. Love you too. 🙂


  2. November 25th, 2013 at 1:51 pm      Reply Papa Foster Says:

    I really like this piece. It shows the many sides of “you”. And it feels really honest too. Thanks for sharing. Can’t wait for the next piece!


  3. December 2nd, 2013 at 2:24 pm      Reply halleg573 Says:

    Izadora! This is so so so good. My jaw dropped while i was reading it. I cam relate, as i lost a loved one too soon. Keep on writing, youre very good at it.


  4. December 10th, 2013 at 10:11 pm      Reply Mrs. Kriese Says:

    I’m sorry about your uncle, Izadora.
    I’m glad he has a place in your beautiful poem!


  5. December 13th, 2013 at 7:58 am      Reply Uncle Ry Says:

    Very moving Izadora! And so honest. Do you write poems often? You are very talented. Thanks for making my day more beautiful. I miss you.


  6. December 13th, 2013 at 4:22 pm      Reply Eric Foster Says:

    A very moving and comprehensive portrait of YOU – brilliantly written. It so poetically and sensitively describes the Izadora we know and love. As your uncle Graydon had the gift of music, so you have the gift of expression – how unique a talent it is, and we are very proud of you.
    Love – Pops and Grandy.


    • December 21st, 2013 at 3:55 pm      Reply izadoraf612 Says:

      Thank you. I love writing, but the funny thing is that usually these kinds of pieces are not really expected to be so good. Usually I just do it to finish an assignment. I really like all of your comments they are nice. I appreciate that you guys visit my blog and comment. Love y’all 🙂


  7. March 22nd, 2014 at 2:52 pm      Reply Ms. Velasco Says:

    Hi Izadora,

    This is an amazing poem! Thanks for sharing it =)


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Skip to toolbar