These Boots Were Made for Walking

November7

Among the rows of shoes along the the rack, I, even I, have my favorite pair of shoes. They have been put in place of my once new and clean sneakers but now; not so much.

These shoes have taken me to boring, old places like a freezing cold H.E.B or to thrilling takeoff’s on plane’s to see my relatives. Despite being my favorite shoes, it means they are surely going to get dirty, which means I have had to wash them several times already. Between long road trips in a car for hours of uncomfortableness to walks in the mud, there is no doubt that they will need to be scrubbed with great force in a small sink that only withstand so much water.

Without those shoes I would not be able to “twin” with my friend. Those were just a few reasons I love my wonderful, turquoise Vans. Now, how about you?

by posted under Book Thoughts, Fun | 4 Comments »    
4 Comments to

“These Boots Were Made for Walking”

  1. November 8th, 2013 at 12:26 pm      Reply Grand-maman Says:

    Hello there!

    When I was 12 (yes, like you), my sister had these beautiful pale blue loafers. One day, she left for school early and when she was gone I decided to wear her loafers to school. I came back (before her) with dirty, dusty pale blue loafers. I scrubbed with a brush but to no avail. She came home, she was mad and naturally my mother really scolded me, but I wore the pale blue loafers!

    Now is there a girl that exists who doesn’t like shoes?

    Grand-maman qui t’aime!


  2. November 9th, 2013 at 9:57 am      Reply Papa Foster Says:

    Love your shoe love! I no longer have the same affection for shoes (I used to love my converse when I was younger), but I still have a bond with some t-shirts. I have some old favorites that I wear on special occasions and could never throw away (though maybe I could memorialize them in a quilt); I have some news ones that I wear way too much! (And yes, I do wash them from time to time…). It’s funny how we can develop an emotional connection to certain types of clothes and not others. Love your writing, by the way. More! More, please!


  3. November 10th, 2013 at 2:01 pm      Reply Mrs. Kriese Says:

    One of the great things about Vans is that they CAN be washed in a sink, unlike some other types of shoes. I wore Vans as a kid in Los Angeles. They were ubiquitous there in 1970–everyone had them. My favorite were brown.

    I wonder–am I too old for Vans now that kids today love them? Hmmm…don’t answer that ;- ) I should just go get myself a pair for memory’s sake!


  4. November 14th, 2013 at 3:12 pm      Reply kellye627 Says:

    I like how you paragraphed this and how you describe that to have the most boring to the best places In your shoes. I also agree that HEB can be freeeeezing!


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Skip to toolbar